ETIAS: Nuevos requerimientos para viajar a Europa en 2022

ETIAS required to visit Europe in 2022

By the end of 2022, all citizens of countries currently exempt from a visa to enter the Schengen area will need to apply online for the new ETIAS, electronic travel authorization, to enter the European countries signed to the free movement agreement.

The Travel Information and Authorization System, or ETIAS, is the new system that the European Union (EU) will use and that will aim to strengthen security in immigration controls and reduce delays at the border.

In this way, citizens of more than 60 countries that currently enjoy visa exemption must process an ETIAS travel permit to visit the Schengen countries for short stays (no longer than 90 days) for tourism or business.

Below is the list for the 26 countries of the Schengen Zone (22 members of the EU and four belonging to the European Free Trade Association) that will require the new ETIAS electronic travel authorization by the end of 2022:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malt
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Norway

Te gusta lo que lees?
Subscríbete a nuestra Newsletter y enterate de todas las novedades

Te gusta lo que lees?
Subscríbete a nuestra Newsletter y enterate de todas las novedades


Online procedure.

An embassy or consulate visit is not required, and it can be requested digitally through an authorization form.

Once the ETIAS registration is made, the system sends an email notification to the applicant with the travel authorization.

The ETIAS visa exemption allows multiple entries for tourism and business to European countries belonging to the Schengen Zone, as long as they do not exceed three months in 180 days.

This ETIAS authorization is valid for three years in a row or until the applicant’s passport expires, whichever comes first.

What documentation is needed to apply for an ETIAS

You only need to have a biometric passport issued by one of the eligible countries to obtain your ETIAS electronic authorization.

Your passport must have a minimum validity of 3 months from the scheduled date to arrive in European territory.

Even so, before filling the form, you must make sure you meet the following requirements:

  • Have an active email account (this is where you will receive the approved ETIAS visa)
  • Have a credit or debit card to be able to make the payment of your ETIAS authorization.
  • You must provide personal information such as full name, date of birth, country of residence, passport details, etc.

Applicants will have to answer questions related to security, including previous arrests or whether they have travelled to a conflict zone or country.

ETIAS is a measure to reinforce security.

When you request the ETIAS, the system is in charge of storing and comparing the data you enter with the databases of Interpol, Europol, the Schengen Information System (SIS and VIS).

This system has rules and a list of alerts designed to detect possible threats, both for other travellers and for the integrity of the territory to be visited.

Before starting your trip, both airlines and transport companies check if you have the approved ETIAS visa exemption. If you do not have the ETIAS permit, you will probably be denied entry to the country you want to travel to.

This mechanism will significantly increase the security of the external borders.

ETIAS is not a visa

As the official portal of the European Commission indicates, the ETIAS is not a visa but rather a travel authorization. It is a permit similar to the ESTA that Europeans must process if they want to travel to the United States of America. 

If you are a citizen of a visa-exempt country to travel to Europe, you will still not have to apply for a visa. Still, you will need to obtain the ETIAS permit that authorizes your trip before entering the Schengen area.

However, if a passenger is denied an ETIAS permit exemption, they will be provided with a reason and may also appeal the decision.

A mandatory requirement to visit Europe.

This new regulation will come into force at the end of 2022. From that moment on, it will be mandatory to apply for all those citizens of third countries who, although they are visa-free, want to travel to the Schengen Zone.

There are currently 60 eligible countries, of which their citizens must process ETIAS to be able to travel for both business and pleasure as long as the duration of their trip does not exceed 90 days.

Below you can find a list of the countries that are currently visa-exempt and that in 2022 will need to process ETIAS to travel to the Schengen Zone: [/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column width=»1/3″][vc_column_text]

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chili
  • Colombia
  • South Korea
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • United Arab Emirates
  • USA.
  • Georgia
  • Grenade
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Marshall Islands
  • Solomon Islands
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macau
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Mauricio
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau.
  • Panama.
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • UK
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • San Vicente
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

Keep in mind that ETIAS only authorizes stays of no more than 90 days in European territory.

All those who want to go to Europe to live, work or study must apply for the visa that suits them best to spend long periods in Europe.

También podría interesarte

Documentos comunes de viaje de negocios globales y cómo simplificar la traducción y la autenticación.

Navegar por la compleja red de requisitos de documentos de viaje internacionales puede hacer que los viajes de negocios sean...

7 marzo, 23 Seguir leyendo  

ETIAS Europe’s Pre-travel Authorization System is Postponed to 2025. Here’s What to Keep in Mind

The European Union has postponed the launch of the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) to Spring 2025 and...

28 noviembre, 23 Seguir leyendo  

¿Tiene valor ChatGPT para los viajes de negocios y la inmigración empresarial? ¿Qué puede y qué no puede hacer?

Indudablemente, ChatGPT ha estado generando mucho revuelo en diversas industrias al hacerse la pregunta de cómo impactará en las operaciones...

25 agosto, 23 Seguir leyendo  

También podría interesarte

Hiring EU Talent in Saudi Arabia? Here’s What You Need to Know About KSA Work Visas

For businesses who want to take advantage of Saudia Arabia’s booming economy, here are the documentation requirements you need to...

23 febrero, 24 Seguir leyendo  

How Universities Can Best Support Their International Students With Documentation

Universities have become increasingly diverse in terms of their student populations, welcoming growing numbers of international students — in 2020,...

23 marzo, 23 Seguir leyendo  

Business Immigration Can be Stressful. Here’s How To Take The Pressure Off

For businesses who want to take advantage of Saudia Arabia’s booming economy, here are the documentation requirements you need to...

23 mayo, 24 Seguir leyendo